Skip to content
April 18, 2011 / arthill

Thinking about buying Adobe Photoshop?


One of the web pages I visited popped up an ad for a Photoshop class and I was reminded why I don’t own the program even though I have been heavily involved in Digital Photography since 1998.

Here’s a four day course in how to use Photoshop.  Says it is for novices and intermediate users.  And it’s only $1595.

http://www.ledet.com/courses/831-Adobe-Photoshop-Bootcamp-Training-Class?metro=Chicago+-+Park+Ridge

Then you could take the 2 day advanced class for $895

http://www.ledet.com/courses/1-Adobe-Photoshop-Advanced-Training-Class?metro=Chicago+-+Park+Ridge

Why would anyone want a $600 software program that would require this much training?

If you haven’t bought it, take it off of your wish list and get something you can actually learn to use.

https://arthillphoto.wordpress.com/2011/04/07/photo-editing/

Maybe buy a new camera and a couple of lenses with the savings.

If you own Photoshop tell us why you bought it and whether it has met your expectations.  Would you recommend it to other digital photographers?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Debbie / Apr 18 2011 7:35 am

    I have PhotoShop 7, bought the manual for dummies, and still can’t figure out lots of the features. I use some of the very simple things, but I mostly avoid it. Most of my photographer friends have encouraged me to get Lightroom, but I’ve balked so far. Right now I am using Picasa 3, and I do think I will eventually invest in the Elements program you recommended.
    Thanks, Art!

  2. Brian Smithson / Apr 18 2011 8:42 am

    I have Photoshop CS4 and I bought it as part of the CS4 Design Premium Suite, because I use it in my business along with InDesign, Illustrator and Dreamweaver. I also have Lightroom 3.

    I agree that it is a large program and quite dificult to learn, but there are far cheaper resources to learn it than the ones you qute here. Lynda.com (www.lynda.com) has a huge variety of online classes available at $25 per month and so does Kelby Training (www.kelbytraining.com) at $24.95 per month. Both of these can be purchased by the month or yearly, which gives a further discount equivalent to $20.83 and $156.58 per month.

    These sites can give you training on a huge variety of software packages, as well as photographic-specific training on Photoshop. Of course, you still have to purchase the software in the first place 🙂

  3. Donna McCommon / Apr 18 2011 8:50 am

    Art,
    I am a Photoshop user. While I was still teaching I purchased CS3 through an educational site at a discount. Since then I have upgraded to CS5. I wanted to use several of the programs that came in the Suite. I agree that Photoshop was a little overwhelming for me at first. However, because I had to take 2 classes of some sort to renew my teaching certification (required by our State Department of Education,) I went through a local college and took 2 6 weeks classes for Photoshop online for $85.00 each. I’m aware everyone does not have access to such courses but they really helped me understand how to use the program.
    When I began post processing my images, I had no idea what to use. Photoshop was used by several departments in our school system so that’s what I went with. I am looking forward to taking a look at all the different sites you have suggested in your posts. There is always room for learning.

    I guess my reason for using Photoshop at this time is that I feel comfortable with it and can use it quickly to edit.
    Donna

Leave a Reply

