Skip to content
April 5, 2016 / arthill

Lots of changes, new camera and new cell phone


Well, It’s been a long time since I wrote for my photo blog.  So many changes – I don’t know where to start.

I’d previously written that the Samsung Galaxy SIII was the first cell phone camera that I liked. In the fall of 2014 I moved up to a Galaxy S5 and the camera was even better.  It sported a whopping 16 megapixel camera.  Although I continued to be primarily a DSLR shooter I shot a lot of pictures with that cell phone. The standard camera was the one I used the most but I tried several of the other ones.  A Better Camera ended up as one that I used a fair amount.

We’re not huge Facebook, Instagram or Twitter users but I do like to put a few pictures out there.  Lots of times even though I was mainly shooting with the DSLR we would take a cell phone picture just so we could post it to social media while we’re stil out and about.

The next technology advance was an Eyefi card from http://www.eyefi.com/. This SD card goes in my Canon camera and has a wifi transmitter built-in. This is a pretty amazing product that allows you to transmit pictures from your regular camera to your computer and/or their eye-fi cloud service and or your smart phone.  This eliminated the need to shoot separate cell phone pictures for posting to social media.  If you had the shot you wanted you could just send it to your cell phone and post it from there.  We also used this capability to send pictures via messaging to family and friends.

Last year for my birthday my wife got me a Canon T6s. IMG_3061

 

This is one heck of a camera. It produces 24 megapixel images and incorporates a lot of advanced technology from Canon. Focusing and exposure are both outstanding.  A big deal for Canon was the addition of wireless capability. I can connect this camera to my cell phone and either shoot pictures remotely or transfer pictures from the camera to my phone.  I do this all the time so I can post pictures or send them from the phone.  Alternatively you can set the camera up to send pictures directly to Flickr, Google Drive, Canon, Facebook, Twitter or YouTube.  You can also set up email lists so that you can choose one of those to email your photos.  All of this requires access to a wifi network but it’s pretty impressive. The manual claims that you can easily transfer pictures from the camera to your cell phone using NFC (just touching them together) but I’ve never been able to get it to work.

This last Christmas I got a Canon EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM Lens and I like it a lot.  I write about that in a future blog.

Less than 3 weeks ago I upgraded to a Galaxy S7 Edge.  Oddly Samsung reduced the total pixels from 16 million to 12 million but they still made the camera better.  Although I’ve only been shooting with it for a little while I am quite impressed.  It takes much better pictures in low light than previous cameras and that was always a sticking point for cell phones.  This camera also lets you shoot in “Pro” mode with control over ISO, white balance, shutter speed and so on.  Lots of other features too.  I’ll do a compete blog on the camera in the near future.  Here are a few sample pictures.

20160318_202604_001

20160325_192044

20160403_153540

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Ethyl Formate / Apr 7 2016 5:00 pm

    Glad to see your newest post, after such a long absence. Looking forward to more. Thank you for shaing your insight.

Leave a Reply

