Skip to content
April 15, 2017 / arthill

Liberate Your Art Postcard Swap 2017


In January a friend of mine sent mea blog post about “liberating” your art. In this case she was talking about digital photographs that we take but never print.  It was a thought provoking read.  You can see it at https://prairiesage.blog/2017/01/11/free-your-art/

In the post she alerted me to a project.

“It’s called ‘Liberate Your Art Postcard Swap’ and is organized and created by artist, Kat Sloma, of Kat Eye Studio
http://kateyestudio.com/

The idea is to print and share your art with other artists by mailing 5 postcards (with your art printed on one side) to Kat before March 18, 2017. She then ‘swaps’ all the postcards around and sends them off all over the world so they can arrive in the mailboxes of all the artists who participated.”

The tough part for me was choosing just a few pictures.  I thought I would try it but then I decided not to.  Then I decided to try it but didn’t get around to picking out pictures and making postcards.  So I decided NOT to do it.  Then, as time was running out I decided to go for it.  I chose these pictures:

IMG_2622la guna beach painting IMG_3303moonightpainting4607skyline from the Ferris wheel IMG_0661

and ordered postcards from Zazzle.

Kat sends out very good instructions for getting everything together and sending it off. I made the deadline with plenty of time to spare.

I thought it was pretty exciting.  I received five postcards over a period of about a week.  I notified each artist by email and also posted a picture of their art on Facebook and Instagram.

I kept waiting hear where my 6 cards had landed but by April 15th I had only heard about two of them.  I got nice emails from two people.  Never was aware that anything was posted on Facebook or Instagram.  There was a lot of activity on the Facebook Event Page. Posts needed to be approved though so that kind of slowed things down a bit.

Here are the postcards I received

20170328_15020720170331_15570820170406_093112_00120170406_11133720170327_103840

I had expected more photography but learned that a lot of other art is the norm. 

So, it was fun and interesting.  Kind of disappointing to only hear about two of my five cards.

Kudos to Kat for all the hard work.

11 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Lisa / Apr 15 2017 9:26 am

    Good morning Art..Same with me, have heard from only two artists during this 2017 main swap..Possible that the remaining three of my sent postcards got to make a trip across the ocean to another country, IDK…I love doing the LYA…Absolutely love the celebration/blog hop too…I am now in the midst of side swaps which I find to be fun and very gratifying..Nice to meet you 🙂

  2. Lisa / Apr 15 2017 9:27 am

    You have a beautiful assortment of cards, both sent and received 🙂

  3. NatashaMay / Apr 15 2017 1:15 pm

    What a great selections of cards! Love your returns. 🙂

  4. Sheila Marie Delgado / Apr 15 2017 2:43 pm

    Love your cards, beautiful work!!! And how nice, that all of your received cards seem to fit together. I have only heard of 3 of my cards landing, I think. Give it some time, you may hear from the rest. Hope to see you in next years swap. Happy creating to you!!

  5. blueskyredearth / Apr 16 2017 7:27 am

    Dont worry, some postcards take a long time to get where they’re going, that’s why it’s called snail mail. Your postcard of the painting at the beach is one of my favorites this year

    • arthill / Apr 16 2017 8:50 am

      Thanks so much. I love to take a picture of a painter or a painting in progress and then “convert” that to a painting.

  6. Linda Ursin / Apr 16 2017 11:52 am

    Lovely cards 🙂

  7. suzettedesertskyblue / Apr 16 2017 6:07 pm

    How wonderful you decided to participate. Your photographs are wonderful. I’m looking forward to next time…I hope I’ll see you then.

  8. Chandra Lynn / Apr 17 2017 8:26 pm

    Great photographs! Great collection received. It sometimes takes a moment for the “thank yous” to arrive, but they do one way or another…

  9. Val van der Poel / Apr 17 2017 9:23 pm

    I jumped between joining and not joining too Art but almost at the last minute decided to go for JOIN! And I am glad I did, I was lucky to hear from 4 of the 5 who received my cards; maybe yours are still in transit. You sent out a lovely set of cards that can take people to other locations without the hassle of travel – lol. I hope you weren’t too discouraged and will join again next year. I think the best part has been the blog hop where you get a chance to see so many of the cards that were circulated and to ‘meet’ other artists. Have a great day.

  10. Tammy / Apr 27 2017 11:55 am

    Love! Happy LYA 2017!

Leave a Reply

