Skip to content
August 18, 2011 / arthill

Get high


Early this week I visited Navy Pier in Chicago with my wife, daughter and grandkids. There are lots of photo ops, especially of the Chicago skyline.  You sometimes get the best shots of cityscapes if you can find a place well above ground level.

Here’s a shot from the Ferris wheel (which is 150 feet high)

About halfway down the pier there is an outdoor stairway to the second floor of Festival Hall with a nice platform.  I didn’t get anything Monday but I usually shoot something from there like this

Continuing on down the pier I shot the towers and the roof of the Grand Ballroom

IMG_2443

That got me to wondering if there was a way to get up there.  Sure enough there was an elevator to the flat roof so I went up there and shot these

So look up, find a place above ground to take your shots.  Sometimes the higher you get the better.  I shot this from the 41st floor of Lake Point Tower.

and this one from the same place

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryann Tia Engel Goldman / Aug 18 2011 8:43 am

    All these shots are great. I particularly like the last two but each is special and shows a wonderful view of the city.

  2. Janet / Aug 18 2011 12:53 pm

    A terrific reminder to find a unique perspective…. you’ve caught a wonderful variety of the moods of the city which would have been impossible without the high viewpoint.

  3. Ed Spadoni / Aug 18 2011 8:41 pm

    Fantastic colors and details Art. I especially like the night scene.

  4. WildeLifePhotography / Aug 19 2011 7:51 am

    Beautiful series of shots. I like the variety of perspectives.

Leave a Reply

