Skip to content
August 12, 2011 / arthill

Lighten your load


I forget when I switched from a digital “prosumer” or all-in-one camera to a DSLR but it’s been a few years.  So, as often as not I drag my whole camera bag with me and end up shooting all my shots with just the camera and my 17-85mm lens.  I did have an old leather holster style camera bag that I would use sometimes when I didn’t want to carry the whole bag of stuff.  But, it wasn’t ideal.  The fit was pretty snug.  The only way to close the holster was with a zipper so it was pretty slow to get the camera out for a shot.  The strap was pretty short so when I had the camera out the holster would always slip off of my shoulder.

Well, I’ve found a great solution and thought I would share it with you.  It’s a Tamrac Digital Zoom Pack.  http://www.tamrac.com/5683.htm

It’s just right for me when I only want to take my camera with the one lens.  It has a zipper but also has a clasp for the cover.  So, when I’m walking around I leave it unzipped with the cover held down by a clasp.  It’s easy to get the camera out.  It has nice long strap so I put it over my right shoulder and let the case hang down on my left hip.  They have other models in case you have a longer lens.

IMG_2257

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryann Tia Engel Goldman / Aug 12 2011 1:53 pm

    Neat! A problem you don’t have but I do is that I struggle with my camera case also being my purse:-) i carry the case so I have my ‘money’ and spare batteries. The camera rarely leaves my neck at events, though.

    • Ed Spadoni / Aug 12 2011 3:02 pm

      Maryann – I think men get into photography just so they have an excuse to carry all their stuff in a bag!

  2. Ed Spadoni / Aug 12 2011 3:01 pm

    This is a great recommendation Art. I have a Lowepro TLZ holster bag that also carries one lens, and it gets more use than any of my other bags. It also has a belt loop if I don’t want to carry with the shoulder strap. It doesn’t quite make my DSLR and lens a P&S, but it’s a step in the right direction!

  3. Janet / Aug 12 2011 7:20 pm

    Terrific looking bag, Art… I just put it on my wish list!

  4. rdungan / Nov 18 2011 3:37 pm

    Interesting post. I have experimented with several bags, straps, even trying two cameras with two different zooms. Currently, I wear a vest with many pockets to hold the small stuff. I use a black rapid strap to carry the DSLR comfortably on my back where it is out of the way and easy to reach. When hiking I keep a long lens on the DSLR, and have a Cannon S95 in a pocket for the short range images. Not a perfect system but it works well.

Leave a Reply

