Skip to content
May 3, 2011 / arthill

Uploading your photos


The best way to upload your photos to Flickr, Smugmug and Windows Live is to use Windows Live Photo Gallery.  You can get a plug in for smugmug here

http://plugins.live.com/photo-gallery/detail/publish-on-smugmug

and Facebook here

http://plugins.live.com/photo-gallery/detail/liveupload-to-facebook

Of course it natively supports uploading to Windows Live.

If you don’t have Windows Live Photo Gallery you can use the built-in Smugmug uploader

image

This works better with Google Chrome than Internet Explorer (and does not work at all with 64-bit Internet Explorer)

 

If you have Picasa then use that to upload to Picasa Web Albums.  You can also add a smugmug button to Picasa

http://www.smugmug.com/help/picasa-smugmug-uploader but I would not recommend it.  It lists all of your galleries in one giant drop down list – not very workable.

I don’t recommend using the Photoshop Elements uploading tools.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Maryann Goldman / May 3 2011 9:55 am

    There’s a 100 photo limit on Picasa to Smug too, and that’s kindof limiting to me too. For a long time that button would not work for me. After a few upgrades, it now seems to be working.

  2. Jean Southerland / May 3 2011 10:00 am

    For those of us who use a Mac, iPhoto is absolutely the best – easy and effortlessly downloads to Facebook, Shutterfly, etc.

  3. Howard Hull / May 3 2011 12:47 pm

    I’ll definitely try Windows Live Photo Gallery. I’ve always used PSE to upload to SmugMug and its always worked flawlessly…until a few days ago. I just received another a reply from Smug and they said to check for updates to PSE 9. I did get one a few days ago and that’s about the time I began having upload issues. Smug also suggested using HTML5 Drag and Drop. I played with that a little last evening but couldn’t get it to work, probably just me. I ended up using what Smug calls Olde Faithful uploader. I don’t like it! I’m far from being a computer whiz so I really appreciate you sharing your knowledge with all of us out here. If only I could remember all of it! Thanks also for your comment on my photo today.

Leave a Reply

