Skip to content
April 25, 2011 / arthill

Out of bounds


One fun thing that you can do with a photo is create an image that looks like the subject is actually coming out of the frame.  I saw a cool one on smugmug today and thought  I would show you one way to do this.

Here’s an example of what I’m talking about

While the typical use of this technique is for a person or an animal it can work okay with other subjects like flowers.

Consider this daffodil shot I took recently

IMG_9701

Using Out of Bound, I transformed it to this

I’ve done these with Photoshop Elements, Version 9 using the Guided Activities, Out of Bounds

The layer palette look like this.

image

Once you finished with the guided activity you can switch back to Full Edit and do some more tweaking. Here I just filled the frame with brown and then applied a texture using the Filters, Texture.

daffodil oob textureIMG_9701

Adobe has a good tutorial with more details on how this works here

http://tv.adobe.com/watch/learn-photoshop-elements-9/using-the-out-of-bounds-effect/

Have fun.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Debbie / Apr 25 2011 6:39 pm

    This is SO COOL! I saw the one posted on the dailies and wondered how it was done.
    Thanks for posting this! I guess I need to start thinking about buying Elements and learning the tools.

  2. Donna McCommon / Apr 25 2011 8:08 pm

    I love this! Now I just have to figure out how to do this in Photoshop since I do not have Elements. What a fun photo.
    Donna

  3. Howard / Apr 25 2011 8:33 pm

    Thanks, Art. I’m definitely going to have to try this!

  4. Maryann Goldman / Apr 28 2011 9:34 am

    I like the technique, and I’m impressed that you named all your layers so well. I never rename the layers:-) Whatever PSE gives ’em I use. I did this with Joey’s boot on that super colorful shot of the kids on the bench from last year (in my post on 2 Guys). It’s fun!

Leave a Reply

