Skip to content
March 12, 2011 / arthill

Patterns and repetition


I decided to take a break today from techniques and tools and “how-to” and just talk about pictures.  I take a lot of people pictures, landscapes, flowers, cityscapes, pets.  But I try to keep my eyes open for patterns.  Patterns occur in nature and there are lots of manmade patterns.  So I’m just going to show you some pictures I shot over past few years and hope that these give you some ideas of things to shoot.

This first one is one of my most popular pictures on smugmug.  It is just a street vendor display case on the streets of New York City.

Crayons, chalk, pencils – all make good subjects.

Farmers markets always provide a good source of pattern pictures.

Food works when it’s inside too.

Shopping?  Bring your camera along.

And of course Mother Nature provides us with an endless supply of patterns.

 

 

And finally, look for patterns in the things we make.

IMG_7620

IMG_7625

IMG_0447IMG_0450

P0003706P0003744

Well I hope that will give you some ideas.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Billie King / Mar 12 2011 9:15 am

    Great run of excellent pictures, very creative ideas.

  2. Judy Horton / Mar 12 2011 11:48 am

    Great series of patterns and repetitions, Art!

  3. Deanna King / Mar 13 2011 10:39 am

    I love your ideas for taking pictures of ordinary things. I am working on a scrapbooking project, “Documenting Life”, and your post reminds me that I can capture pictures of our family and the “things” that we enjoy! Great post — AWESOME blog!

  4. Maryann Goldman / Mar 13 2011 10:11 pm

    I really enjoyed looking at this collection of pattern pics all together like this. Some really great shots in there!

Leave a Reply

